Life After Death

It was a beautiful Friday afternoon. The weather was nice, a little hot, but nice. I was headed down the Tiger walk on the beautiful campus of Texas Southern University. I was finally embarking on the most important journey of my life as a college student. I entered the Bell Building to pay for my diploma and get my final signatures. As I pulled out my debit card to, my cell phone began to ring. I stepped out of line to answer the phone. In my mind I was saying, “why is she calling me, she knows I’m at school.” As soon as I answered the phone I knew something was wrong. My cousins was screaming and crying. Instantly tears started to fill my eyes and my blood started to bowl under my skin. Her words were like a knife stabbing me in my chest and my beautiful day had suddenly turned into what might become the worse day of my life. On Friday, September 5, 2014 at 1:21 pm my life would change forever.
Our younger cousin Derrick had been shot. At the time we didn’t know how bad the shooting was or where he had been shot. I stood there in shock for a moment trying to gather my thoughts and figure out what my next move should be. I prayed silently God please don’t take him from us, not like this, not now. We had just gotten him back. He had only been home from jail for about three months. Once I came to my senses, I ran out of the Bell Building as fast as I can. I was crying uncontrollably and the hot sun was beaming down my back which caused my sweat and tears to becoming one. I was so distraught I couldn’t remember where I had parked. I stood in the middle of the Tiger walk and I felt as if the world was spinning all around me and I couldn’t make it stop.
One of my Professors approached me and saw that something was going on with me and proceeded to help me find my car. Once I made it to the car the phone rang again. My heart felt as if it were going to burst out of my chest. The voice on the other end of the phone wasn’t clear. I couldn’t make out the words she was saying. I advised her to calm down and speak clearly so I could understand her. She continued to tell me the latest news and that things were not looking good. The source we were receiving information from said that we should get to Beaumont as soon as a possible. I knew then that this was serious.
I headed to my house to pack a small bag and grab my dog. I hit the road speeding down the highway. I was going almost 90 mph. I tried to contain myself so that I could focus on driving, but I had an eerie that something wasn’t right and maybe the source might have left out a few details of the story. I continued to drive and my phone wouldn’t stop ringing. I ignored the phone afraid of the news I might get if I were to answer.
I was almost to Beaumont and I finally felt a little relieved, but that was all about to end. I picked up the phone to check my facebook and the first thing I saw was “ RIP Lil Derrick Arielle, Princess, and Derrion hold yall head up.” Instantly I lost all control of every emotion in my body. My car started to swerve all of the road, tear and sweat poured like hot lava down my face and my stomach contents could no longer stay down. I pulled over onto the median to throw up. I couldn’t believe what I had just read. I called my mom and said he’s gone. Please tell me it’s not true. By now my emotion had truly gotten the best of my and I could no longer drive. My cousins had to come and pick me up off of the side of the road. I had never felt pain like that in my life. I felt that my life was over and that there was no way I could continue to live my life without him.
Once we made it to the house, the rest of my family was already there. It was such a pretty day outside, but it seems so dark and gloomy. We were about to head to the hospital, but they would not let us see the body because it was not considered a homicide. I sat and looked at the hurt in all of my family and it weighed my down because I felt as if I was caring their hurt as well as mine. Now we were all sitting in the living room trying to console each other the best way we knew how, but we all knew deep down that no matter what it would never be the same.

Leave a Reply

