Autobiography

My name is Arielle Rawlins. I started my college career at Texas Southern University as a psychology major. After two years at TSU I decided to take some time off to do some soul searching. One year later I decided it was time to go back to college. I transferred to Lamar University, a school in my home town of Beaumont, Texas.

During my first semester there I enrolled in a radio broadcast class. It was then I decided to change my major to broadcast journalism. I felt I might have found my new passion. I attended Lamar for three semester and decided it was time for me to return back to TSU because I knew their communications program would better fit my needs.

I am currently working full time as a Hooters girl and as a student at TSU. I am a senior enrolled in my last 18 hours of my last semester as an undergraduate student. A few weeks before starting my last undergrad semester, I started working as an intern at KTSU 90.9 The Choice. This internship is a huge step for me towards my career goals and I am enjoying every moment that I am a part of the show I am working on.

I am looking forward to graduation, but most importantly I am ready to move forward with my career and get a job in the radio business. In the spring I want to return back to TSU and receive my Master’s Degree, also in Communications.

I have come down a long dark road in life and it feels good to finally be able to see the light at the end of the tunnel. My advice to anyone, is no matter what happens in life, never let anything get in the way of your goals. Dream big, or go home!

Leave a Reply

